Do you live a balanced lifestyle?

Evening all! I just want to apologise for the lack of blog posts recently. Life has been mental for both Vian and myself. I promise we have some delicious recipes coming soon 🙂

I just wanted to discuss & talk about my experiences when it comes to having a balanced lifestyle because I believe it is so, so important. I have learnt so much since moving out nearly a year ago. When I look back at my life before I purchased my first house, I truly believe that my life wasn’t balanced. I was at the gym 6 times a week, didn’t have a social life, ate nothing but boiled chicken & veg, got annoyed if I didn’t get 90kg dead lift, and get frustrated if I couldn’t see progress. I was so paranoid, I just wanted to fit in and be part of the ‘fitfam’ community.

My priorities have changed a hell of a lot since then. My brownie business has taken off and I’m making orders weekly, I’m working full time during the week, I have a second job which I do at the weekends, and I am running a home as well as trying to have a social life. I try and make it to the gym where I can but to be honest with you, sometimes I really can’t be bothered. I just want to spend time with Ben as we don’t get to spend a lot of time together. It sounds crazy I know but we’re always at work or out in the evenings, so sometimes I just say to myself ‘you can miss this workout’.

I’ve found it very hard adjusting to my new lifestyle and there are a lot of things that have had to change. Despite this, I do feel a lot happier now than I did a year ago. Moving out wasn’t a shock as I had been to uni and I am an independent person, but I did feel incredibly isolated. I find myself struggling when motivating myself to get my ass in the gym because I know I will be training on my own. Ben never goes to the gym, and if he does it’s in the morning when I am on my way into work. So now I’m doing the odd home workout and attending a lot more gym classes because I get to try something new, and interact with new people.

Whenever I have a brownie event at the weekend I don’t work out at all the week running up to it. I’m too busy making sure I have all the ingredients, making sure I have everything for the stall and not to mention the baking which can take a really long time. But you know what, not going to the gym doesn’t bother me like it used to. As long as I eat well enough to keep me going then I’m happy. I am putting everything into my business right now as it is my number one priority. So what if I miss a couple of workouts? I’m working on my future!

I’m having to get a lot more creative in the kitchen too because I am absolutely sick of bland chicken and veg! Ben is also a fussy eater, which means I don’t cook certain foods anymore for dinner just because he doesn’t eat them. I always try and have at least one meat free dish a week, and I alternate meat and fish to make sure I have a little bit of everything 🙂

I’m not worried about aesthetics any more, I am more concerned about whether I am eating a balanced diet to ensure I get all the necessary nutrients to make sure my body is healthy on the inside. Don’t get me wrong, I still LOVE going to the gym and throwing a few weights around and I love seeing my body improve, but to me it’s not the be all and end all. I accept and love the body I have got, and I need to make sure I look after it. I have been ill several times since moving out due to stress, exhaustion and potentially not eating right, so for me, this is the most important thing. Making sure my body is okay, because after all it is my duty to do so.

I’m not quite sure where I’m going with this to be honest, but I just want to stress the importance of making sure you’re happy with the life you’re living. If you’re happy being in the gym 6 days a week working on your physique, then do it. If you’re at your happiest stuffing your face with a pizza, then bloody do it. As long as we are happy and making positive memories that we will remember and cherish forever, then that’s all that matters.

IMG_2247

(Photo credit GymVersus)

I have got a crazy summer ahead of me. Most of my weekends are booked up already, making & selling brownies, working or seeing friends. I’m going to keep on eating well, having the odd chocolate bar if I want too. I’m going to carry on growing my brownie business into an empire, and I will workout at the gym when I can. I really do believe that I have finally found balance between personal, business, work and gym life. It’s taken me quite a while to accept and love the life I’m living. But everything seems to be so great right now and I am loving it.

‘A balanced life is a happy life’

Lots of love as always,

Beki x

Leave a comment