Aubergine & Courgette Lasagne

I normally make this on a Sunday ready to put straight in the oven when I get home from work on a Monday evening. This is my favourite meat free dish, and more importantly Ben loves it too! This is something I have adapted from a recipe Mama V used to do when I lived at home. My idea of healthy & delicious comfort food 🙂

Ingredients –

1 large Aubergine, sliced into thin strips

2 Courgettes, sliced into thin strips

Rizopia Lasagne Sheets, uncooked

1 White Onion, finely diced

2 Garlic Cloves, finely diced

1 can Chopped Tomatoes

1 tbsp Tomato Puree

Mixed Italian Herbs

Chilli Flakes

Pepper

Himalayan Salt

Method –

1. Start by slicing your vegetables and cook them on high temperature on a griddle pan. Once they have been cooked on each side, pop onto a plate and leave to cool.

2. Whilst the vegetables are cooling, start making your homemade tomato sauce! Pop a tbsp of coconut oil into a non stick pan and sauté the onion and garlic until soft. Add the tinned tomatoes, tomato puree, herbs, salt & pepper with 1/2 cup of water and combine. Leave to bubble on a medium to low heat for 15 minutes (tip – you want the sauce to be a little watery so the pasta sheets will cook once in the oven. If the sauce gets too thick, add a little water and combine).

3. Once the sauce is done, it’s time to put all the elements together! I normally do a layer of vegetables followed by a layer of pasta, which I then top with tomato sauce. Do this until you run out of ingredients, then top with your favourite cheeses. I normally go for a mixture of grated cheddar, parmesan and freshly torn mozzarella.

4. When you’re ready to cook your lasagne, pre-heat the oven to 180ºc and leave to cook for 45 minutes. Serve straight out the oven, with a salad or your favourite vegetables!

Absolutely delicious and one that the family will love. So simple to make, packed full of flavour and nutrients, you can’t say no 🙂 If you want to add more vegetables, then I would recommend roasted red pepper or layer fresh spinach in-between.

 Hope you all love this recipe as much as I do!

All my love, Beki x

Leave a comment